I have a hunch destination sites are not ideal for Q&A

As much as I am a fan of teams that are innovating around Q&A – we are one of those teams so of course I am bias – the thing I don’t get is the focus on destination sites. I mean, here I am  browsing a site on the web and checking out their products, and suddenly I have a question: “will those solar panels fit my roof”‘, “will those shoes be comfortable for long walks?”…

What’s the idea? Am I meant to stop what I’m doing and go to Yahoo Answers or Hunch or Aardvark and ask someone THAT question? How will they know what I’m talking about? Wouldn’t it make more sense just to ask someone who is an employee/customer/visitor to the site? Someone already there, in context, who knows what I’m talking about?

Leave a Reply

