What will things be like without newspapers?

Given all the bad news about the newspaper business, combined with an economy that is about to take a nosedive, will newspapers come out the other side? If the post-recession United States has lost it’s great (and not so great) papers, what will things be like?

I live in Seattle and I have to admit, if the major papers disappeared I don’t think I’d even notice. I read the New York Times fairly regularly but almost exclusively online. The only thing made of actual paper that I read is The Stranger and maybe the Capitol Hill News which appears in my mail.

I would feel terrible if there were no more NYT, it would seem like a huge loss. And yet… maybe it would be more of a psychological loss.

Thankfully NPR does not appear to be threatened because in their case “there is no substitute”.

Leave a Reply

